Vienna: Day 3

I thought I’d write a little bit about Vienna: Day 3. The day started off lazy (remember, we’d been up late at Mozart the night before!), so I went out to fetch some breakfast. I saw a denn’s Biomarkt (a German organic store) and decided to have a look inside as I passed.

We’ve started a little tradition in Wiesbaden where we check denn’s in the morning for expiring discount organic food, so we get some (supposedly) healthier stuff at the same price as normal food. It was eerie. The store’s layout was a little different but, hundreds of kilometres away in another country, everything else was identical. The cash registers were unmanned. The employees were checking over the shelves for expired goods. 20% and 50% off labels were on the food, including milk (we often buy for homemade yogurt) and almost the identical cheese we buy. I went to the cash register and rang the bell for service, forgetting if I was in Wiesbaden or Wien. Franchises and capitalism. Awesome but scary.

Get to the part about the food!

Anyhow, I picked up some apparently local variety of salami for our rye bread. It tastes a little weird, maybe with paprika and some other spices. Still, it’s nice to try a different salami. With our stomachs temporarily filled, we set out for Schloß Schönbrunn.

vienna

It was a lot different than when I visited with my mom in the summer back in 2010. Everything was dead and it was quite cold. Still, the palace itself was nice and there was a great Christmas market out in front. We bought our first ornament together for our future Christmas tree.

After the cold walk, we sat inside the Café Residenz for some Apfelstrudel. As you can imagine, I did not have Apfelstrudel, since I hate baked apples, but I did have some Topfenstrudel, which was alright. Jelena enjoyed the strudel a lot and plans to eat more before we leave.

strudel

Vienna: Day 3 is about the food

backerei_wenningerTo be honest, every day is about the food, isn’t it? But after the Apfelstrudel, we set out for a cute bakery we found the other day on a side street in the centre, Wenninger Bäckerei. The door handle is a pretzel and there were lots of breads and cookies within. We picked up some Vanillekipferl and Linzer Augen. Jelena has her own Vanillekipferl recipe and, to be honest, I think hers is a lot better! But they were tasty all the same. We also picked up some yet to be eaten rye Brötchen (bread rolls – or, as they call them here, Semmel), which I hope are also great.

tafelspitzDirectly after our bread acquisition, we set out for Restaurant D’Landsknecht, in search of Tafelspitz, another specialty of Austria. While we both thought it was quite tasty, personally, I think boiled meat is probably on the bottom of the possible ways to cook meat. I associate it with cafeteria food and it reminds me somewhat of corned beef. I guess I’m not crazy because, apparently, boiled beef was a working class dish in England. Working class or not, it was delicious, so I’m not too snooty to enjoy chowing down on meat and potatoes. On the contrary, meat and potatoes are what make life worth living.

Time to head home

A day of eating behind us, we made our way to the tea shop to pick up some sencha, our go-to green tea, so we could warm up, eat our cookies, and sip our tea. Another great day in Vienna. Tomorrow, we plan to set out for Schloss Belvedere. Of course, we’ll only be killing time until the next eating adventure at Zu den 3 Buchteln!

One thought on “Vienna: Day 3

  1. I am loving your blog! I especially enjoy the reviews of the different meals and stores that you have visited. It is always great to try new things – especially special cultural foods. I remember when I tried that apfelstrudel in Vienna. It was delicious! I look forward to tomorrow’s adventures.
    Mom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

