Trips that change things in your life

I always say that one of the best parts about travelling is when it makes a change to your normal, every day life. Of course, travelling can change you in huge ways: Vancouver had a major role in developing who I am today but I am talking about the small things from the smaller trips you make.

Before I went to Turkey, I had never tried drinking tea. Now, I drink it sometimes often and sometimes every so often. Much more impactful was the discovery of Turkish cheese. I ate it every morning for breakfast, with my bread and meat, and loved it so much that I continue to buy it all the time from the local Turkish grocery store, here in Wiesbaden. It’s a staple of my breakfast and I’ve even introduced other people to it too. Had I not gone to Turkey, I would have never known about this great food, which has become an integral part of my life!

So what am I getting at? Well, this change is not so exciting but it is an interesting experiment to me. The iPhone battery sucks. I know it. You know it. Steve Jobs’s corpse knows it. So one thing I did before I left was changed some settings to make the battery last longer. I always want to know when I have email, just because, well, you know, I mean, well, if it’s there, I’ve got to read it. Why wouldn’t I? Well, I changed the instant delivery of emails not even to the time-based setting but to manual.

It might sound small and insignificant but in today’s crazy electronic world, it’s a big deal for me. It basically changes the whole way I consume emails. Instead of demanding my attention at any given moment, I am now reading emails when I choose to read emails.

The natural decision would have been to turn instant emails back on upon getting home but I’m going to try to keep this one connection to the electronic world severed. Maybe I won’t know about everything instantly but I managed to live well into this decade without ever having that option before.

Trips don’t have to just introduce you to new foods or interests. They can also change your habits, introduce you to new people, or even give you a desire to move to a new place and turn your life upside-down. It’s about breaking out of your routine and out of your bubble.

One thought on “Trips that change things in your life

Leave a Reply

